Skip to content

Reps. Sewell, McKinley Introduce Legislation to Expand Access to Non-Opioid Medications

Reps. Terri Sewell (AL-07) and David McKinley (WV-01) introduced the Non-Opioids Prevent Addiction in the Nation (NOPAIN) Act (H.R. 5172) today, legislation to help address barriers to non-opioid pain management for those enrolled in Medicare, thereby helping stem the opioid epidemic across the nation. Specifically, the bill would address payment disincentives for practitioners to prescribe non-opioid treatment alternatives in surgical settings by requiring CMS to place non-opioid treatments on par with other separately paid drugs and devices in Medicare Part B.  NOPAIN Act text


Copyright 2019 Interstitial Cystitis Association – Privacy