News & Blog

Recent Posts



AUA/Urology Care Foundation IC Research Scholar Recipients Announced

The Urology Care Foundation (UCF), the official foundation of the American Urological Association, and the Interstitial Cystitis Association are pleased to announce the recipients of the IC Research Scholar Awards that are being funded by ICA. Following a rigorous peer-review process, the award recipients are both exceptional early-career investigators. (Nicki will put in link to original announcement article)

Henry Okafor, MD, will begin his one-year research award on July 1, 2016. His project, titled “The impact of tissue regeneration on rodent models of interstitial cystitis/Painful Bladder Syndrome (IC/PBS),” will elucidate the impact of a recently developed drug for inflammatory bowel disease on reversing IC-like functions in a mouse-model. Dr. Okafor’s research will be conducted at the Cleveland Clinic under the mentorship of Margot Damaser, PhD and Daniel Shoskes, MD.

Haeyeong Lee, PhD, will begin her two-year research award on July 1, 2016 as well. Her project, titled “Molecular and functional characterization of PDGFRα+ cells in CYP-induced interstitial cystitis,” will characterize PDGFRα+ cells and determine how these cells participate in regulating detrusor excitability in CYP-induced detrusor overactivity. Dr. Lee’s research will be conducted at the University of Nevada, Reno under the mentorship of Sang Don Koh, PhD.

More information on the recipients and their projects will be available in a future issue of the ICA Update. Don’t receive the ICA Update? Consider becoming a Supporter at the $50 donor level today!

Click here for more information on how ICA & UCF are working together to advance IC research.

use this link